Another Newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

shann

Original poster
Apr 18, 2011
Central Vermont
Hi, I'm Shannon and I live in Vermont, where its still winter unfortunately.

I'm a total newbie at smoking.  I do cook a lot of steaks, burgers and chicken breasts on my charcoal and gas grills.  I've never cooked anything "low and slow" until this weekend.  I bought a cheap Brinkmann electric smoker.  It seemed like a painless and cheap way to get into smoking. 

I made ribs last weekend and they were okay, not great.  I'll be "practicing" probably a lot of weekends, because the electric smoker doesn't require a lot of effort.

I'm married and we have a son in college.  Our little english pointer Kona pretty much runs our life.  Most of the time I just cook for my wife and me, but I will have 5 or 6 people over for a cookout from time to time.   

I have found a lot of good information here and look forward to being a part of the community. 

Shann

welcome Shann! practice practice practice is what it is all about. that and researching the forums here at SM. 

Try some smoked hamburgers on that thing, I bet you won't ever grill a burger again.

Some  things that will make life easier for ya when it comes to smoking would be a good dual probe thermometer. It will let you keep an eye on your smoker temp and meat temp! Very handy.

Not very familiar with electric smokers but I bet the addition of the A-MAZE-N-SMOKER will really blow the flavor level of your smokes right off the charts.

If you ever have a question feel free to ask. Lots of smart cookies around here to help ya thru it.