Another First Brisket Smoke - 01/28/12 - Follow Along With Me

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kevin13

Meat Mopper
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Jul 8, 2007
Wentzville, MO
I've been smoking for a couple of years now and haven't done a brisket yet....so I figured it's about damn time. Back in December, I was at a local butcher buying a pork belly for bacon and asked if he had any brisket. He did, said it was "lightly" trimmed of fat and contained the point and flat. Perfect. So I walked away with a 6.5lb brisket. I debated even buying this, but I was there and it would be awhile before I made it back to Sam's, and I needed to do a brisket for once. Got home, threw it in the freezer.

Fast forward to this past week. I got the brisket completely thawed and unwrapped it. "Lightly" trimmed is being generous...there's not much fat on this thing at all. In addition, I'm not sure about the point. It looks like it's there, but I can't be sure. I assume it starts where the crescent moon shaped fat line is? Any help would be appreciated.

Anyways, enough whining, time to make the best of the situation. Rubbed it down with yellow mustard and gave it a heavy coating of The Slabs "Wow Your Cow" rub, wrapped up in saran wrap, and into the fridge overnight.

Woke up at 4:00AM this morning and got the MES preheated. At about 5:30AM, the brisket went it....along with a heaping shelf of the fattiest bacon I could find in the St. Louis area, to help baste the brisket due to the "lightly" trimming it received.

Oh...and I'll be basting with a spray bottle of this tasty mop:

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/82119/barbecued-brisket-and-burnt-ends-recipe-by-paul-kirk