Add chips for how long???

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

saltydog806

Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
I am a beginner to smoking and have never done a Turkey. We have an extra self basting Turkey that I want to practice on. I believe I have found the answers to most of my questions, however I have two to ask at this point (I'm sure I'll have more after my first bird).
biggrin.gif

1.With a 5 to 6 hour cook time (10-12lb) do I add wood chips/chunks throughout the cooking time and if so how much & how often? I realize that there are alot of variables (type of wood, cooker, how much smoke flavor I like ect). I'm just looking for a good starting point If I'm useing Mesquite.

2. When adding more charcoal do I need to always get it started first or can I add small amounts that haven't been started?

I have a Charbroil (drum style) with a Smoke box attached on the side.

Nice to be here
icon_smile.gif

I'll answer your questions this way.

1.With a 5 to 6 hour cook time (10-12lb) do I add wood chips/chunks throughout the cooking time and if so how much & how often? I realize that there are alot of variables (type of wood, cooker, how much smoke flavor I like ect). I'm just looking for a good starting point If I'm useing Mesquite. Yes I would add chips/chunks the whole time for the bird will alway accept the smokey flavor. If your useing woods like hickory or mequite I would cut back alittle bit for they ae some strong woods.
2. When adding more charcoal do I need to always get it started first or can I add small amounts that haven't been started? I add my charcaol right out of the bag and let the exisitng fire start it as well. So don't let your fire go out before adding new charcoal