A little help with heat management...

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jwbbq

Original poster
Sep 4, 2008
Southern Oregon
Hey gang,

I just modded my CG Outlaw with the standard kit.

I've been burning it empty today to get an idea about the heat, time, etc.

I burned one chimeny (the weber chimney) of kingsford in the SFB and got a sustained 220-225 for about 2 hours.

It hit 200 with the kingsford still producing heat and about 1/2 disintegrated.

I added about a 3/4 chimney of Duraflame lump. I've never used it before and wanted to see how it burned (I've read some of the reviews).

Long story short, with still quite a bit of fuel producing heat in the SFB I'm only getting about 175 at grill level. I've adjusted the SFB vent to about 3/4" open and the lid vent to about 1" but it didn't seem to have much affect.

Any ideas what I can do to get the heat up without going through truckloads of fuel or should I just expect to go through a lot of fuel when smoking?

ya need to run that top vent wide open, in fact take the damper off and put a rain hood on it. are ya buildin the fire right on the sidebox grate, or in a charcoal basket? the ash from the first kingsford chimney full may be choking the lump. just a few thoughts