1st Time Smoking Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

refry

Original poster
Aug 6, 2016
Greetings everyone,

Looking for all the help I can get and any tips and tricks one might know for smoking brisket.

I've purchased a Beef Brisket Whole USDA Prime Vacuum Packaged with a net weight of 10.64 pounds.

I will be smoking in an old Treager electric vertical smoker with auto fed pellets.

I've been watching  Malcom Reeds and BBQ with Franklins youtube videos and checking out http://amazingribs.com for recipes and the process of smoking the brisket.  

I am borrowing this smoker from a friend so I have never used it before.  I own a Brinkman smoke n' grill that ive modded and have experience smoking pork butt, ribs, sausage, and tri tip.  

I'm wondering if any ol' timers can give me any tips or share any knowledge of the entire process from trimming to rubs to type of smoke temperature time etc.

I've included two images front and back of the brisket that I bought.

I have some initial questions upfront.  I've read that a brisket should be smoke without a water pan.  Due to the size of this electric smoker  I was wondering if I could smoke pork belly and pork shoulder at the same time?  Would not having a water pan ruin the pork or should I just add the water pan and have a less barky brisket?

Just want to know what else I can smoke with the brisket?

I'll be using my brinkman to smoke some slc ribs.

Any tips or any info would be greatly appreciated.  Sorry in advance if there has already been a million posts like this.

Thanks so much

Ryan

Also the brisket was packaged 08/08/16 i bought it today 8/10/16 and want to cook it on 8/26/10

should i freeze it or let it sit in it's juices till im ready to cook