1st smoke and disappointed

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

psychii

Original poster
Jun 28, 2009
I smoked some babyback ribs on my Brinkmann dual door today and I'm not happy with the results.

Smoked them at 250 the first hour, settled to 225 the rest of the time. They were on the rack for 3 hrs, foiled for 3.5 (guests were running late), and finished on the rack for 45 mins.

Now, all that time and the meat did not pull back from the bone. Also, they were tough. Flavor was good, but I still have pieces stuck between my teeth.

I'm new at this, so if there are any ideas as to what I did wrong I would appreciate them. I was really looking for fall-off-the-bone tender.

Chris

smoke for 3 and foil for 3.5 and firm for 45 min . Baby backs should have turned to mush by then.
Sounds like your thermo is way off. Are you sure they were bbs / maybe 3 down spares? Even spares would have been well done at the time and temp you are listing.

psych - sorry to hear that your frist smoke went so bad. the only thing i can think of is that your temps were WAY low, and by that i mean barely 200 degres. are you sure about the accuracy of your themometer? idoes it show the temp ar the door or at the grate?

I had a second thermo and both read the same temp. The package said back ribs, but I can't recall the brand and the trash has already been taken out.

I have NEVER been able to cook a good rib. I was hoping this smoker would end the curse.

I have a multimeter with a temp probe. I ran it through one of the exhaust vents to just above the meat. I read the same as the door thermo.

well, BBQ is like making a baby - if it don't work this time, you get to try again!