1st Clucker in my homemade smoker!!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mohntr

Smoke Blower
Original poster
OTBS Member
Dec 24, 2006
Catawissa MO
Here it is... I'm not very good at photography - Bird was GREAT!

Here is a pic of my homemade smoker. I use part of my turkey fryer for heat, and a dutch oven bottom for wood.

The smoker and the chicken look good and I love the idea of using the turkey fryer/dutch oven combo for heat and smoke-very innovative! Would love to see some interior pics if you have any. Happy smoking :D .

Thanks for the replies. Here are a few pics of the inside. The smoker is 24" square on the outside, and is almost 6' tall in the front, some 3 or 4 inches shorter in the back.

The racks we bought on clearance at Wally-World for 7 bucks each. They are heavy duty. I bought 3 racks but only installed 2 of them. I still need to add the other one.

I monitor the heat with instant read thermometers installed in the door right at the grill levels. They are not in the pics. I take them out and clean them after smoking. You may see one in the first pic at the top of this topic. Not sure. I have a taylor digital, I hang the probe near the meat when smoking to monitor the internal temp of the smoke house. The remote pager hangs on my belt and lets me know if the temps are where I want them. About an hour or so before I think the meat should be done I stick the probe in the meat and monitor the internal temps. I really need to get another one.