19 LB Packer for Saturday

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

txsmokeandbrew

Original poster
Jul 3, 2015
Alright here we go with my first post,

I have been smoking brisket for a few years now and normally do 7-10 a year. Today I will be starting my 19 lb packer for dinner tomorrow night. I will be posting photos along the way of my process from trim to smoke to finish. If you have any advice or changes along the way, or if you have any general comments please feel free to let me know. It needs to go on in about 6 hours so I will update this with a trim and rub picture shortly. Thanks to all who follow as I am looking forward to lots of information tonight. Smoker is a Brinkman trailmaster limited and I will be smoking with 1/2 apple wood and 1/2 mesquite. 

19lbs is pretty big. I've seen a few of those at WM recently. 

Even after trimming I think you'll still have a good 16-17 lbs there. I would expect it to take a solid 14 to 15 hours to smoke one that big. 

I have a 12.72lbs packer that I am doing tomorrow. Took it out of the freezer yesterday to start thawing. Going to get it on by about 7am tomorrow morning and we put it through a good 10 to 11 hours of smoke. 

Reactions: txsmokeandbrew
be careful not posting any pics you could get a few of these....
worthless.gif
lol

Reactions: txsmokeandbrew