using side fire box for first time

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bgaviator

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
May 9, 2010
Hello,

we just got a Char-Griller duo with the side fire box, and we want to smoke ribs this weekend.  I have never done anything like this before and I am not sure how to accomplish this.  We have some dead apple trees that we cut down, and we were going to use the chopped wood from that.  But my question is (and this is a real newbie question here I'm sure)......how do you start the fire?  Keep it going?  Do I have to light the side box with charcoal first, then add the wood?  Will the fire keep going through the 4-6 hours the meat needs to cook, or do you have to add additional charcoal?  I just really don't know what I am supposed to do here.  Thanks. 

Welcome to the SMF!!!

If you used the apple wood only, your most likely problem will be keeping temps down and steady at first.  You'll have to babysit that rig until you learn its habits and quirks.  I like to build and keep my fire as far away from the cook chamber as possible to keep cook chamber temps as even as possible.  The side nearest the firebox will be the hottest, so rotate your food to get a more even smoke/cook.

Keep your food at the far away from the fire as possible (that's where you temps will be lower and more stable). 

There are some great mods for your SFB unit here on SMF.  Some are quick and simple, others more involved.  Search around and you'll be able to get a few in place before the weekend to help make this smoke easier and better.

Cheers, and good luck!

yep he covered it.  just post some pics "Q view"
thumb1.gif

A few other thoughts.