Too simple to talk about?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

squarezilla

Original poster
Aug 2, 2008
Portland, Or
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, and not the most experienced smoker, but my wife and I have been experimenting for a while.

I am an ex-design engineer turned home remodeler, and I have been looking around the net at various build-it-yourself smokers. I hate to say it but I keep seeing the same few tired designs over and over again. There is the one made from two barrels, one stacked on the other, the one that is a modified store-bought vertical smoker (magnum?), the one made from two propane tanks, etc. etc.

I've also seen several commercially made "cabinet" style smokers, basically a square box with a door on the front and some kind of firebox/smoke generator below. They seem to be a fancy version of a refrigerator modified to be a smoker.