Sudden issues with AMNPS

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

tombigbee

Original poster
Jun 7, 2014
Alabama
I have been using an AMNPS 5x8 for a couple of years now in a Masterbuilt electric smoker. Through dozens of smokes it has always been perfect, burning as intended and lasting exactly as long as described according to the quantity of pellets I load. I know how to use it, have watched the videos, and use a MAP torch and hair dryer to light it. I simply have never had any problems.

I recently ordered 2 five pound bags of pellets from A-Maze-N, one each of oak and hickory. Today, I loaded it half full of hickory. About 1 hour in, I noticed way too much white smoke. I opened it up, and sure enough, both rows had ignited, with all pellets black.

I dumped that and tried again, thinking maybe the fire had jumped the divider, though I take care to keep the pellets well down in the channels. Same result, and I'm sure there was no jumping this time. All pellets were black and smoldering.

I tried a third time, using the new oak with some cherry I had left over on top, thinking maybe there was something wrong with the hickory. Same thing again, all pellets black and smoldering.

In the past, after a successful smoke, there has always been a minimal trail of white ash left in the AMNPS. This did not happen this time, just all pellets black and smoldering, making way too much white smoke. I am positive after the first time that there was no jumping of fire over the dividers.

I'm wondering if there has been a recent change in these pellets, or if there is some other issue. Any thoughts, help, or comments appreciated. This thing has performed flawlessly until now, and I sure want to keep using it.