Soon to be Propane Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jehoric

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jun 1, 2009
Hello!

Been lurking here for a few months with occasional posts. Absolutely love learning from here, but I'm convinced I've gained 5lbs just from looking at some of the Q photos here!

I've decided that I'm going to risk having a smoker at school with me. My mother bought a Big Green Egg this summer and I had a blast cooking with (and eating from!) it. Of course, I'm a poor college student who constantly changes residences, so a heavy, expensive smoker like the BGE is a problem. I'm also living in an apartment where I might or might not be allowed to smoke.

Anyways, enough of my life's story. I'm looking at getting a GOSM, but a little confused. I see BB (I assume "Big Block") thrown around with it, but I don't quite understand. Is that a different construct or just a different size?

One question I hope someone can answer is the start-up smoke from a GOSM. Billowing clouds of white smoke are probably not something I'd want to tell my landlord about. With the BGE (Charcoal), I generated tons of smoke when I was first starting, then went back to the thin blue smoke once things got underway. Will I get similar results from the propane smoker?

Lastly, I didn't see this mentioned so I'm hoping that's for a reason, but do GOSMs have an "air" thermometer inside or are the knobs accurate enough to where it isn't an issue?

Okay, that wasn't lastly, but this one was... Any accessories that GOSM vets here think I'll need to buy? I know I need a meat thermometer that I can leave in the meat (I'm terrible with the instant-read ones. Terrible), but not sure if there is anything else people would recommend.