Smoke Hollow Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

scooterjam

Fire Starter
Original poster
Aug 13, 2014
Hey friends,

I am rather new to this whole smoking thing.....I actually started a year ago.....guess I'm not that new, however.....does anyone else have an old Smoke Hollow smoker.   Mine is just an upright box with racks in it....no damper.... and a thermometer on the front that died years ago.    I have been into the whole Sausage thing.....Making Keilbasa, Italian Sausage, Hotdogs, Pepperoni etc.  My question for you is this, if you use one of these, do you have issues getting the temperature down to 140 degrees?  I have to run mine with the door open, and it never fails, wind or dog or wife (not in that order...lol) the door gets closed and the temps shoot up.  The end result is sausage that looks and tastes really good....but you have to have teeth like that JAWS guy from the old James Bond movies.   I'm soaking the casings 24 hours ahead of time, and allowing the meat to sit overnight in the fridge.  But not getting the juicy melt in your mouth results that I'm looking for.    I really don't want to buy a new smoker, although I've seen many good ones out there that interest me.  There is no damper on mine to open, like some of my recipes have called for either.  How about this, could I take the element out of the box, and put a hot plate in there or do you think the results would be the same.  My son, the Chef, is telling me he thinks A:  I'm grinding the meat too fine, and B: I'm cooking it rather than truly smoking it.    On pay day next week, I plan on picking up one of those tube pellet smokers, I've watched numerous video's and think it looks fantastic.  So, that being said, comments? suggestions?