Roll Call New to Forum

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

brycraft

Original poster
Mar 27, 2014
Hi my name is Bill and I am live in Bolingbrook Il. Its about 30 miles West, South West of Chicago.

Sorry already posted a review on my bacon before I realized there was a roll call forum...

I have a Masterbuilt 30" electric smoker with a AMNPS mail box set up as the vessel for my pellet tray and I love the results.

I am new to electric smokers and have had a Weber Charcoal one in the past that finally wore out.

I don't miss the charcoal and wood chips, fun but tiring to use on a regular basis.

Some people believe electric smokers are just an oven that can smoke. Probably right but results so far have been more then acceptable.. My family would probably not notice the difference between this and a world class smoker...lol

I lived in Georgia where I was a aircraft mechanic for Delta, thats where I fell in love with real BBQ and the winters for the most part... You can get great BBQ there like hot dogs in Chicago... I prefer the bbq...

I have only had my electric smoker for a week but have smoked pork shoulder, ribs, bacon, cheese and a bacon wrapped cheese filled meatloaf...

My neighbor has come over because he smells the awesome smell from the smoker..

What I like about the AMNPS mail box set up is that I can load up the smoker with cheese and smoke without

fearing I will melt the cheese or have to load up the water pan with ice and place ice packs in the smoker that I seen 

some people doing, not sure why. As a matter of fact, I put string cheese in the mail box just standing up laying against the sides while I smoked bacon. cheese never melted and came out great.