ribs possibly oversmoked

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ovid

Original poster
Jun 13, 2009
I am very new to smoking, using a masterbuilt electric smoker. I tried to smoke ribs for the first time last Sunday. I took them out of the fridge about an hour before cooking. I warmed the smoker at the 30 minute mark, with wood chips in smoker. Getting short on time, I put them into the smoker at the time I had planned even though we were not quite at 225 yet. They were pork spare ribs.

As far as loading the smoker, I had 2 half racks of ribs each cut in half since lengthwise they would not fit in my smoker. I had ribs on each of the 4 racks, one of which was on the bottom of the smoker.

Keeping an eye on the temperature, I ended up bumping up my setpoint on the smoker a few times trying to get to temperature, since as I read here, the temperatures on the masterbuilt are not quite calibrated. Long story short, my temps were very low on the smoker for the first period of time.

I was trying to use the 3-2-1 method, but having read to wait for some pullback on the ribs, I ended up with about 4 hours in the first phase from what I can only assume is my low temps. They did do some pullback, but not nearly the quarter inch I was looking for.