Pork loin ham in the smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

crankybuzzard

Smoking Guru
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Jan 4, 2014
Montague County, TX
16 days ago, I cut up most of 2 full size pork loins to cure for some loin ham. This "ham" that I make starts out as Canadian bacon, but after the cure, I skip the part that "makes" it CB. All I do is cure it in Pop's brine for around 14 days, let dry in the frig for ~24 hours t o get a pellicle, and then smoke it until I get an internal temp of 145ish.

I'm not too good at step by steps, that's Bearcarvers domain, he has more patience and takes better notes! :biggrin:

So here's a few in progress shots to get the ball rolling.

The loin chunks fresh from the frig, still in the brine. I use a food safe lug that has a lid for brining/curing loins and bacon. To keep them submerged, I put a plate, or plates, on top of them.

The loins after dumping the curing solution. Interesting colors this time, maybe Chef Jimmy or BearCarver can chime in. I've cured a lot of CB in a wet brine before, and never had the brownish color like I did this time. Smelled good, so it went with it.

Had to do a fry test after soaking for 30 minutes. Yep, good flavor!

All dry and ready to net up

Netted and ready to smoke!

In the smoker to dry a couple of hours at 130 degrees

Now, to answer the question that comes up now and then, why I use netting for my CB and loin ham.

I use the netting because I can put more in the smoker at once without using multiple racks. I like the shape it gives the loin, and finally, I really like the marks it leaves on the mini "hams". :biggrin:

I am in. But what do you skip? Not to make it cb?

I am in. But what do you skip? Not to make it cb?