Pork butt, tell he how to smoke?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokindummy

Original poster
May 22, 2008
Alliance, Nebraska
Is anybody getting sick of my stupid questions yet? Sorry, I am new to this smoking thing. I plan on smoking a pork butt roast using my ECB electric. How about some tips for prep and smoking. Can I put it in and go to sleep and it will be ready?(I work night shift, sleep day shift). Please help and thank you for the responses to all my questions!

Follow the sticky for how-to as Sumo already said.

I have the ECB elec and have tried to 'set it' and 'forget it' but insuring your temps are consistent is the only worry. If you have winds or changing ambients, chances are the smoker temp will vary during your smoke.

I assume you have no mods for temp adjustment (I don't either) so I just vent the side door or the lid as needed to get the smoker temp back in range. (cooler times might require a wind break or wrap like a welding blanket to to maintain)

Having a remote thermo with alarms will let you get more rest. (Mavrick ET-73 is popular choice here)

Good Luck.

Ditto on the therm.

Here are some of my tips that I will share with you using this electric ecb for several months now:
  • Preheat the electric ECB about 30 minutes before you place the butt in the smoker and place a foil packet of wood chips in at this time.
  • I would foil your wood chips or chunks; this will keep a clean smoker and also reduce risk of flame ups. I put a decent size pinch of wood chips in a little tube of foil and poke holes throughout. I get about 60 minutes to 90 minutes of good smoke with one packet.