Pork Butt/shoulder question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

adam t

Original poster
May 17, 2016
I just purchased a new Oklahoma Joe horizontal smoker, seasoned it last weekend and then cooked a pork shoulder on it in hopes of some good pulled pork.  I made the standard mods to the smoker - RTV sealant, nomex type rope seal around doors and dryer vent from chimney down to cooking level.  I am relatively new to smoking on big smokers so this one didn't turn out as well as I had hoped.  I am a rookie so I think my biggest mistake, after reading countless threads,  was not getting the internal temp up to 195-205 where the tissues in the meat breaks down thus making the pulled pork.  I have no clue what the internal temp was (my guess would be 170-180), I just know I smoked it from 9:30AM to 6:00 PM (10 pound shoulder) and assumed all would be good - wrong, it was a struggle to pull the pork so I think that tells me it was under cooked, bone was tough to get out.  Smoker temp was maintained between 225-255 all day.  Since this past weekend I have ordered a new digital/wireless meat thermometer which is due to arrive today - lesson learned.  I am going to try a pork butt this weekend in hopes I get this right.

Side note:  I also have one of those small bullet looking smokers and have had great success with pork butts in the past so I think I am going to go back to a butt versus a shoulder.