Polish Fattie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

plex03

Original poster
May 17, 2015
Hey all, 

This is my first attempt at a fattie. Here's what I've done so far: (Part 1 - Prep)

1.) Made my own fresh "Wiejska Style" Fresh Polish Sausage. I stared with a 5 lb. pork shoulder and cubed it along with 15 cloves of chopped garlic.

2.) Then ran the cubed pork and garlic through the meat grinder 2 times:

3.) Added fresh Marjoram, salt, pepper and mustard seed & ice water to the mixture. Mixed, covered and wrapped overnight in the fridge. 

4.) Made my bacon weave:

5.) Rolled out 1 lb. of the homemade sausage per the awesome tips on here:

6.) Layered with swiss cheese:

8.) Then sauerkraut, and some onions that I sweated. 

8.) Rolled (again per the incredible tips on here)

9.) Wrapped in the bacon weave and chilled in freezer for 30 minutes. 

I'll add Part 2 at time of smoking/post smoke.

Part 2:

10.) Fatties going in the Brinkmann Electric Smoker with Applewood Chunks:

2 hours and 45 minutes later....

12.) Popped them into a 400 degree oven just to tighten up the bacon a tad and here's the end result after resting:

Last edited:
Damn, I love this site ! That looks delicious ! Nowhere else on the web but a meat smoking forum can you find a combination like that. It will never be on the menu at cardiologists convention, but I will have to try one. Thanks !

Good 'ol KitchenAid Grinder Attachment for the mixer.

Part 2 added to original post. Turned out great. Very old world flavor most likely due to the marjoram.

A little 1000 Island Dressing and Bavarian Style Ground Mustard on the side. YUM!

Reactions: SmokyMose
P03, great looking fatties !
points.gif