Newbie here

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

adonato

Original poster
Oct 26, 2013
British Columbia, Canada
I didnt know where to look for help and i found this site and i honestly didnt know where to post this. First time smoking ever and went at it blindly and as you could imagine didn't turn out so well. I have made my own smoker and went at that blindly as well but got the approval from a long time smoker enthusiast that i know. From my observation the cook chamber is only at a 100-130 degrees and not where i want it to be, i was hoping to hit around 225 or so. Im cooking outdoors and its around 11 degrees Celsius and i dont know if that has anything to do with it. Oh yeah in using charcoal briquettes and wood chips and also small wood chunks? I guess i dont really know. So yeah i think thats all i need help with but if i come up with anything else I'll see to posting it here.

I think I already saw you post in the Roll Call.  

For other questions or posts take a look at our Forums section and select a more appropriate location for specific questions.

Good luck and have fun,

Bill

Glad you joined us adonato, :welcome1: from North Dakota!
What make and model charcoal smoker do you have?
With charcoal the temp is regulated by air flow and amount of charcoal. Don't smoke with your top vent closed, and same with the bottom vent unless it is running higher than preferred. Running to low of a temp may also be from too much ash surrounding the coals and/or not allowing ventilation.

Last edited: