Newbie from Virginia

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mvallen

Original poster
Dec 9, 2009
Richmond, VA
Hey!

My name is Mike and I am brand new to smoking, I have never smoked anything ever but I am looking forward to getting started.

My room mate and I have been wanting to purchase a smoker and last night we saw a great deal and we hopped on it and are hopefully ready to go.

By chance we went to Lowes here in Richmond to look at possible smokers we wanted to buy for ourselves as a christmas present. There were two models that fit our requirements, the standard Brinkmann Grill/Smoker and LP Box smoker by Perflect Flame, which I think is Lowe's brand.

I have been wondering around Lowes on my lunch breaks drooling over the smokers. The Brinkmann ran about $70 and the LP Box smoker ran $160. I knew that plenty of people have got perfect results from the Basic Brinkmann but I also did not want to spend the $160 for my first smoker.

Well by chance last night my room mate wanted to go to Lowes and check out the smokers. Well Lowe's marked down the LP Box smoker to $90 so after doing a happy dance we through the last one in the cart and couldn't wait to get home. We also purchased some Mesquite and Apple wood to get started along with some tools.

Well we got home and assembled the smoker and can't wait until this weekend when we should have some time to get going!

I am hoping to do some reading on here to get some tips!

Hello mike and welcome to the SMF. Congrats on the new smoker, we'll be looking forward to your next smoke. It's all good my friend.