New to smoking...

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokeeater

Smoke Blower
Original poster
8) Hi everyone! Jim here, from Long Island, New York. I am new to smoking meat.

I saw a show last week on the Food Network about smoking meat and I was :shock: intrigued. Did a search and found this website right away and started reading - learning as much as I could as fast as I could.

:D Today, I ordered the Great Outdoors Deluxe Gas Smoker (Big Block, I think) through Amazon.com from the link right here on Smoking-Meat.com. I looked all over :( to try and buy one locally (I called stores over two hours away) without having to have it shipped, :cry: but no such luck - it's just not the season for it around here, :? I guess.

I am very :P excited, but I have to wait at least two weeks before it will arrive, as it is pre-ordered. In the meantime, I plan to start the e-course and pick up as many tips as I can. I fish alot, and I am looking forward to smoking fish, along with anything else that I can find.

Thank you in advance for all the info/advice/tips/help that you are going to give me!

Jimmy G.

Well, hello Jim :D

welcome to the SMF.

You picked out a favorit e of a lot of the folk here for your first smoker. Just work the e-course and post us some pics when your smoker gets there :D

Hi there Jimmy G, welcome to the SMF. Former Port Jefferson LI gal here. Youv'e found the best smoking forum on the web!! Read as much as you can, there is tons of great info to get you up and rolling along, if you can't find it just ask , great folks with lotsa know how. Have a great time with your new toy and let us know how it goes :D