New to smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rawdog

Original poster
Apr 22, 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hey Everybody,

My username is RawDog. I am new to smoking but I have been cooking in commercial kitchens for a couple of years. I am interested in making my own sausages and smoking. Still researching on the best grill/smoker combo to get so any advice would be appreciated! I am from Cincinnati and great sausages have been pretty established here because of the huge german population. Looking forward to learning and sharing on this site.

Thanks!

Welcome to SMF, RawDog. We can help you find that perfect smoker but we'll need a little more information

Such as:
How much do you want to be able to smoke at a time?
What do you want your fuel souce to be: (Wood, Charcoal, Electric, Propane, Pellets)?
What kind of budget do you have?
Is this going to be a stationary unit or are you wanting a trailer model where you can tow it to different venues?

Let us know~

Enjoy the Smoke!

I was thinking I wanted to smoke between 7-10 pounds ultimately but will of course try with smaller amounts first.

I would like to use wood or charcoal as the fuel source.

I was looking at grills/smokers between $100-$200.

This will be predominantly a stationary unit to keep in my back yard.

Thanks.

Last edited: