New to Grilling and Smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gpchef

Original poster
Jun 21, 2016
Hello everyone,

I'm new to Grilling and Smoking and loving it. I've been afraid of the grill for years, but now conquered that fear. I'm a 50 year old female in Atlanta Georgia and I started grilling on a little $40 grill. I've grown up to the big boy...old country Pecos Smoker. I absolutely love it. I am having a little trouble getting the smoking part down...my meat taste too smokey, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I don't have an instructional booklet, because I bought the smoker as a return. Can you please give me some advice? Thank you

First off Welcome there is plenty of knowledge on this forum. Full of great people willing to help out. I myself am also a newbie so not much knowledge to share but hang in there and it will start pouring in. 
welcome1.gif

Welcome to the forum!  I'm not an offset guy, but aspire to be one.  I know that your fire quality is an issue if your meat tastes too smokey.  Clean burning dry wood splits, Joe Black preheats his on the firebox prior to stoking the fire.  You want to get that thin blue smoke.  Glad you joined us.

Mike

Welcome, I have an Oklahoma Joe offset, when I first started I had that problem because I wasn't getting a good bed of coals going before I put my meat on..my wood was still putting out creo which is very bitter, and putting out too much smoke.