New smoker in Indiana

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

norrell6

Meat Mopper
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Jun 4, 2008
Indianapolis, IN
Hello out there! My name is Matt and I have been smoking for less than six months. I started with a Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoals smoker. It does a great job, but it is a little narrow sometimes and keeping steady is heat is very time consuming.
I have used this site to research some gas smokers and I just received an early Father's Day present of a Smoky Mountain Series gas smoker. It is 20" X 14" with three shelves, water pan, and cast iron smoker box. I just used it today for the first time. I made an eight pound pork shoulder that I rubber the night before, then rubbed in mustard and spice rub again right before going on the smoker. I smoked it for almost 12 hours and it was the best pulled pork that I have made so far.

I will be making a couple of racks of baby backs tomorrow in the gas smoker.

My Smokers/Grills are:

Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal
Smoky Mountain Series Great Outdoor gas smoker
Charbroil Stainless Grill w/cast iron grates

Any ideas out there about recipes or ideas of what to do with leftover pulled pork?

Look forward to your ideas.

Matt

Welcome to the forum, Matt. As far a left over pulled pork, I freeze it in zip lock bags. It never lasts long enough to worry about vacuum sealing.

Welcome to SMF! Hope you enjoy the forum.

As for leftover pp, you can make chili, BBQ pizza, BBQ spaghetti, and other mouthwatering things with it.

Hope this helps!

Take care, have fun, and do good!

Regards,

Meowey

Hello matt, and welcome to the SMF. Congrats on the new smoker, that should perk you up for Father's day!