New Member Loins,RIBS, and Fatties CINCH

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cinch

Original poster
Mar 18, 2009
Been Lurking for awhile but the Fatties drew me to the site over the winter. I am new to smoking meat been at it for about 2 years now.
icon_smile.gif

I have been doing alot of bonless pork loins, season them and leave them in the fridge for 24 hours then to the Traeger smoker at about 120 degrees for 10 to 12 hours. I pull them off at 140 degrees no more then rest them for about 1/2 hour slice and serve.
Fatties smoke for 3 hours at 120 degrees and then bring to 160 degrees center temps pull off rest for 1/2 hour and serve everyone loves the fatties it seems as they are different and a nice change.
Ribs I like to pull off the silver lining on the baby backs rib side and then season put in fridge for 24 hours smoke for 6 hours at 120 degrees then bake 200degrees in a sealed container with apple juice for 2 hours then back in the smoker to help dry them alittle for about 1 to 2 hours. Add BBQ sauce if you like them wet or serve dry and they are really tender and I have been extremly happy with them.
I am from western Iowa and have alot to learn so keep bringing the ideas to SMF as I will keep on keeping on. Thanks everyone for you suggestions and recepies

Cinch

Hello Cinch & welcome to smf. I'm just curious about how you get the pork loin(s) past 140 degrees in a max of 4 hrs with a smoker temp of 120 degrees?
confused.gif
Maybe I'm confused, but I know the 140 in 4 hr rule comes in to play with poultry and I also follow that with pork. Any comments from the rest of the members?

Welcome to SMF. Glad you joined us. There's tons of great info and lots of great people to learn from.