New from Louisiana

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by rachelkin, Dec 27, 2014.

1. Hi there ya'll. I'm an extreme new comer to the smoking universe!!! I'm a cook and have been wanting to venture into smoking for a time now. I convinced the husband that he wanted an electric smoker and Santa brought him one for Christmas (Santa is very sly)!!! However after only 2 days of reading this forum I'm clearly infatuated!! His Christmas gift is more exciting to me than the jewelry, perfume, spa day, etc that Santa brought me!!
    Me:
    Location, southern Louisiana
    LSU fanatic
    Member of the Who Dat Nation
    Home cook (pretty decent so they tell me)
    Love to fish
    Love football & baseball (addicted to Fantasy Football & newly reigning champion!!)
    Love to shop
    Newly purchased electric smoker

Thanks in advance to all the awesome threads where I've gained much know how in just 2 days. You guys rock. Looking forward to learning more and sharing my experiences!!!!

2. Welcome to SMF, you will find ton's of information on here. If you need any help or have questions just ask.

Gary

3. Thanks.  I should add, I have my smokers maiden voyage ongoing now.  I put in a pork shoulder this morning and as I've read, it seems plateaued at 165.  I'm trying to be patient but I'm super anxious.  I also put a boudin stuffed pork loin (3 lbs) and it was done hours ago.  It came out delish.  But the shoulder is trying my nerves!!

4. Glad you joined the group. The search bar at the top of any page is your best friend.
    About anything you wanna know about smoking/grilling/curing/brining/cutting or slicing
    and the list goes on has probably been posted. Remember to post a QVIEW of your smokes.
    We are all smoke junkies here and we have to get our fix. If you have questions
    Post it and you will probably get 10 replies with 11 different answers. That is
    because their are so many different ways to make great Q...
    Happy smoken.
    David