Needing a good chicken rub

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sue

Original poster
Jul 1, 2009
Des Moines, Iowa
I am new to smoking.  Have only done a pork butt, 2 racks of ribs and some boneless skinless chicken thighs.  On the thighs I used the same rub I had used on the ribs and butt but I need something different.  The rub I have has some spice to it and for chicken I want something that is not so spicey(no cayenne, chili powder etc)  Anyone have any suggestions?  We love garlice so if there's one that uses a lot of garlic I'm all for it. 

Had some grilled chicked last weekend with Emerils Chicken rub.  Plenty of garlic.  I havent been able to find a recipe online, however, it is basically garlic, salt, basil, oregano, crushed red pepper and poultry seasoning.  I'd probably start with 1 part of each then add garlic as needed.  Or i would back off the salt a bit.  Hope this helps.

Brian

I like to brine mine with the recipe in the WIKI: http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/wiki/how-to-smoke-chicken-competition-style

It is VERY TASTY!

I also found a good rub over here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bbq-with-bobby-flay/dry-rub-fo-yo-chicken-recipe/index.html

I've used that rub once, but I made the mistake of substituting poultry seasoning for the thyme and sage, and the poultry seasoning was entirely too strong.  The recipe has has great user reviews, though, so it should be good *as is*.

Reactions: kc chiefs fan
Sue, first,welcome to the SMF!

A lot of recipes for rub are a little on the spicy side.If you don't find one from these threads,try taking some of your favorite flavors of spices and some skinless fried Chicken and try different combinations.You may discover a simply Marvelous Chicky Rub. i.e.-