need help finding a smoker?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bubba96

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 2, 2013
saginaw,michigan
i have been making jerky in a dehydrator for the past 2 years and thinking of moving to a smoker. ive been looking at smokers some good prices some high quality ones as as well. im more interested in a electric smoker. but i was wondering which one would be best for me? the things i plan on smoking would be mainly fish and jerky. maybe turkey for the holidays. i also dont mind making my own smoker. funny as it sounds is it possible to build/buy a smoker around $50-70? its just a question i need help with. if anybody has a answer please reply i would appreciate it!

First off welcome  to the Forum Bubba96! If you don't mind can you make your way over to Roll Call and introduce yourself to everyone. A lot of great and knowledgeable people here, so welcome to your new addiction :) LOL

Are you cold smoking your Jerky? If so you can pretty much get away with any smoker or even a grill if you using something like the A-maze-N smokers that many members of the forum use. 

I actually make my jerky currently using the AmazeN smoker on my weber kettle grill. I've been debating getting a cabinet smoker like a MES or something similar if i can find a good price on a new or used one. It doesnt even have to work for my setup because i cold smoke for 2-3 hours then i finish in the dehydrator