MAKING BACON - HOT SMOKING BACON

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

docfrancois

Original poster
Apr 17, 2015
Hi

I'm new to this thing called smoking food.  I have a WSM and I want to try and make my own bacon.  I cannot find any discussion on this topic .... i.e. HOT smoking pork belly/bacon.

Pse don't react by telling me it's not possible.  I don't have any other means to do it!

Also ... my WSM did not come with a thermometer.  I've seen quite a number of temp guages that are preferred, but is there on that is reliable and that can be mounted on the lid?

Thanks for your input.
head-wall.gif

I've just looked through the "smokers forum" and saw many posts answering my question in connection with hot smoking bacon.    It seems that it is a matter of taste, but the important issue is the curing of the meat. (I did search this topic and I did an "advanced search" - found nothing.  There must be something wrong with my karma!  My apologies!)

Pse still give me advice on the temp guage?

Thanks a great deal!

Hiyas Doc, if it doesn't necessarily have to be a dial gauge like

I would suggest you just bypass the gauge and jump to the next level which everyone jumps to normally anyway. A remote dual probe thermometer. It do so many things for you, it tells you the chamber temp, the internal meat temp, it has an alram system as well as a timer, etc etc etc.... you can get 'em that respond to a phone app or do digital grapics of you smoke.

Theyrun in price from about 30.00 to about 3 to 400.00? They are normally a steadfast camper and don't break very much. Mine I thought finially gave up the ghost last year (15 years old) but it just needed a new probe....LOL