I am making potato sausage for the first time

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rbranstner

Smoking Guru
Original poster
OTBS Member
Oct 18, 2007
West Fargo, ND / Northern MN
I am going to be making potato sausage for the first time this weekend. I have been making various flavors of my venison sausage for the past several years and I always put them in the smoker for at 200 degrees for 40 minutes to an hour to give them a nice little smoke flavor. I have looked at a few potato sausage receipes and none of them say anything about smoking them it just looks like you freeze them and cook them when you are going to eat them. I have only had potato sausage one time and from what I remember it wasn't smoked at all it just looked like a raw sausage when I cooked it. So what do you guys say should I just freeze them after I stuff them or throw a little smoke on them? Any potato sausage experts out there?

icon_lol.gif
I never made them but I have eaten a couple. I don't think a little smoke would heart as long as you followed the freezing and cooking directions .
cool.gif

rbranstner
If you decide to smoke the potato sausage, make sure to add cure to your mix before stuffing. Might not hurt to let the mix sit in cure overnight refridgerated bofore stuffing either.

I am interested to hear how this works out for you, if you can post pics of your finished product.