help the new guy with fuel

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

joepo89

Original poster
Feb 11, 2015
Hey guys, I am very new to smoking and have a question regarding the fuel. I have an offset smoker and plan on smoking spare ribs this weekend. One of my biggest questions is about the fuel for the grill. Is it mostly charcoal with a bit of wood to get that "blue smoke" or mostly wood? Also, as the time goes by, how do I keep the temperature steady? Thanks guys!

Either way is fine. As far as how to keep temps u will just have to play with it on a few dry runs and go from there.