Hello from Las Vegas!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

holly daugherty

Original poster
Jan 22, 2016
Hi! My name is Holly and I got the family a smoker for Christmas, when I looked around for information on how to start this new hobby, it seemed like your forum had the most answers.

I have a masterbuilt 30-inch electric smoker with window. I turned it on for the first time today and have made chicken wings, a rack of ribs and I just put on a brisket.

It's only a 3lb brisket, so I should be able to get it done tonight. I am going to add chips every hour the first 3 hours and watch the temperature then I will wrap in in foil for an hour or so and then back on the rack. I used a dry rub on it, 24 hours ago. I let it come to room temp before I put it in. I have apple juice to mop on it and I have the meat thermometer in it. So, here we go!

Welcome Holly, glad ya joined us... Sounds like your already smokin up a storm ! Thumbs Up Couple things, here's a link to the MES owners group, ya may find some helpful info over there...

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/groups/show/8/masterbuilt-electric-smoker-mes-owners

Also, if you decide this hobby/addiction is for you... Ya may look at getting one of these, it gives hours of TBS with no filling the chip tray... It's a great product !

http://www.amazenproducts.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=AMNPS5X8

Welcome to SMF, Holly!

Sounds like you did your homework!

Let us know how the brisket turns out.

Al

welcome1.gif
.......     Sounds like you are good to go......  

Dave