Happy Smoking Frome Central NY

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rosorange

Original poster
Aug 20, 2006
Just wanted to say Hi from a new member in Central NY (Utica). My son bought me a Char-Broil with side fire box for fathers day (after I watched to many compitions on the Food Network, I had to try it). I am a newbie. With the great weather we have had here all summer (lol) constant rain and only being able to smoke on weekends it's tough to get in the time. I figured I needed some help. So here I am.
Did a beer Butt today.
1 question. Vary little beer evaporated (I had seasoning in it and Cider Vinager), is this normal. Chicken tasted great. I think I smoked it a little to long. It was real moist and kind of just fell off the bones. My wife says (the expert) it was cooked to long and should not of fell of the bone so easy. We actually had to watch for bones as we were eating. Is this normal? I used a hole frying chicken. Cooked 3 hours at 210-250 (still learning to maintain a constant tempurature).
Happy Smoking
Steve

Welcome Steve...Glad to have you here...this is THE place to find new friends and to help you along in the never ending learning fun of the fine art of smoking...lots of great people here ready to answer all your questions...
As far as your chicken...I have never had one that fell apart as you describe...you can usually raise the temp up to around 275*..to get a crispier skin..some even go higher ..all per. preference...and for all the one's I have done..very little does evaporate from the can...
you should always check the temp of the bird to make sure it cooked correctly...170*-180*..the white meat will always cook quicker than the dark...so keep an eye on things.....
Hope this helps...