GOSM manufacturer support (or lack thereof)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rideutah

Original poster
Jan 2, 2008
Ok, I'm very new at this, but I had hoped to have some experience by now. Unfortunately the Great Outdoors company will not support their product.

Here's the story. My wife bought me a Smoky Mountain Series smoker (3005G) from Amazon.com for Christmas. While assembling I noticed there were some minor dents around it, but nothing too major. The bigger problem is that the water tray was missing. I did as the instructions said and contacted the manufacturer instead of contacting Amazon. I was told that they would send me the tray, but it might take a bit and I should find and buy a pan that will fit in there (I still fail to see why I should spend more money because of their screwup). Anyway, I patiently waited while my smoker sits unused. After far too long waiting I called them back. I was put on hold for a while, then told that it's still on backorder and wouldn't be available for a couple of months. They said there is nothing more they can do, and that it shouldn't be used until I get the tray. The only other thing I could do is return it to the retailer. I called Amazon and they said that they could have given a PARTIAL refund if it was returned within 30 days, but now they won't do anything. So I can't return it to the retailer, the manufacturer won't do anything. Now what? How about they go down to their local WalMart and find me a pan that fits, pack it up and ship it to me. Again, this is their screw-up not mine.