Food Safety - Storing Minced Garlic

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rabbithutch

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
To the Admins: If I've posted this in the wrong place, please chastise me and move where it should be.

I can never chop just the right amount of garlic, so I usually mince and entire head - sometimes more - and store what I don't use in the reefer in a tightly sealed bottle with EVO oil covering it. I then use from this stash when I cook. My questions are: 1) Is this a bad practice (and, if so, why)? and 2) How long is it safe to keep in this manner if it has not gone off color?

TIA

I'm no expert but I know infused oils can become contaminated with botulism. Botulinum is found in soil, so garlic etc is prone to it and storing it in oil creates an anaerobic environment which is what produces the toxin. I know storing it in the reefer slows down the production. On the other hand botulism is a lot rarer than most think, you can look up the number of cases per year and presumed causes, its real low, almost lottery winner low, and typically fermented fish heads and things like that are the cause, but oil infusions have caused it as well. Either way it's definitely something to take seriously and give thought too. Not sure how best to store it but it seems like the minced you buy in a jar is always in water (from what I've seen) and there is probably a reason for it. As always YMMV.