First Time Pastrami From A Packer

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rivet

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Apr 25, 2008
The "Show Me" state
Thanks to all you folks posting such great pastramis I had to take the plunge!

Since this is my first try at pastrami, I figured I might as well start from the beginning. Picked up a 14 lb packer this afternoon, no special deals, standard $1.89/lb local price...

Sticking with the traditional flavors, no tweaking for my first try. Got the TenderQuick and spice mix at the store, the rest had at home...

Crushed the juniper, peppercorns, mustard seeds under a rolling pin and added them with the rest into a pot of water to simmer...

Once they started to steam, off the heat and covered for about 20 minutes to release the flavors. Then, strained the seeds and stuff...

To the liquid I added the TQ, brown sugar and garlic powder and a bit more water to make 3 1/2 cups. Simmered that then off the heat...

This will be the injected brine after I trim and separate the brisket tomorrow. The flat will get sealed and brine 'till next weekend. Planning on making burnt ends with the point this weekend.

I'll keep progress posts tomorrow and next weekend when the finished product is done. My plan is to smoke it over either apple or alder...any thoughts or ideas? Is the alder too mild for pastrami?

Thanks for looking and stay posted for more!

Last edited:
By all means, keeps us posted. I know whatever you turn out will be fantastic.

Sounds like it is going to be a great tasting pastrami...
PDT_Armataz_01_34.gif

My question is what are the small noodle like things in the brine mix?