Dutch/English to be Smoker, looking for experience!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hatmcmannis

Original poster
Nov 4, 2015
Hi there guys,

Let me just quickly introduce myself. My name is Mitch Rogers, 21 years old from Driebergen (The Netherlands). After living and working abroad (The Carribean and France) for a couple of years I have ended up back in Holland.

I have always loved the hospitality business and have worked in several businesses from the age of 14, from café's to resorts. Not forget to mention that I studied Hospitality/Entrepreneurialism for 2 years at university and of course obtaining the degree! . I have just come back after 1.5 years of living in Nice (Cote D'azur) working as a project manager in renovations, even though I enjoyed the job thoroughly I moved back because I want more joy in my work.

As I'm a major fan of American Food I have recently been looking into the bbq smoking business, the way of smoking and the passion that goes into it is truly fantastic.

When on holiday a good year ago I visited the annual Food Truck Festival in Amsterdam to only find 1?!!! Bbq smoking catering crew called 'Smokey Goodness', after tasting the pulled pork, ribs, beef, sausages etc. you name it, I fell in love with the smoking concept completely.

For these reasons I have decided to start smoking as a hobby and gradually start hiring myself out to cater for special occasions. That's where I hear you thinking 'What on earth is he thinking, he's got no experience whatsoever...' EXACTLY! That's why I have joined this forum to learn from others and meet people who could help me make smoking big in the Netherlands.