Cold Smoke Tips and Tricks Wanted

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

eyendall

Original poster
May 2, 2014
I recently bought a Masterbuilt Pro electric smoker with variable temperature control. I don't have the model number handy but it is not a top-of-the-line model. Being a newbie I thought that doing hot a or cold smoking was simply a matter of adjusting temperature. At 100-150F I am not getting smoke. Short of buying a dedicated cold-smoker, what suggestions to you have for cold-smoking in this box. Thanks

Depends what you are cold smoking.... Salmon, less than 80.... cheese, about the same... bacon, I like less than 70..... You do not use heat very often for cold smoking.... except in the winter.... when it's 0 degs here, I run my MES at 60 ish to cold smoke....

You should probably think of getting the AMNPS ...

Thanks for responding, Dave. I must be missing something but I can't get any smoke at 100degF. At 60F it would be impossible. How do you get smoke in there at those temperatures?

I smoke ham and bacon.

What is AMNPS?

I did say I was a newbie
drool.gif