Coconut or Palm Wood for smoke?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wolfpackpilot

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 25, 2013
Kernersville, NC
Yes... I am crazy.

That being said, has anyone heard or tried to use dried coconut shells or Palm wood to smoke seafood?

Wondering what it would produce...

Billy V in NC

Hi Billy,

I have never tried this before but I did a little research for you and found one guy who talked about using coconut hulls.

He says if you like the taste of coconut, use the hulls sparingly to other woods to smoke fish or seafood.

It's another bbq forum - man I hate to do this out of a sense of loyalty - but I couldn't find anything specific on SMF, so here you go.

http://www.thesmokering.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8728&sid=0e5f29e1a9d9e7292d929a16deeeaf13

I did find this one thread on SMF so will include it as well.

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/121800/coconut-husks

Hope this helps...

Bill

I wanted to marianate a few lbs of extra large shrimp in a mango/Jalipeno/citrus concoction for 48 hours. Then line them out and smoke them over coconut shells or palm wood.

I'm doing it. Anybody know where I can find coconuts in NC?

:-)

Thanks Bill...

Last edited:
Wolfpackpilot, just a little tip for smoking shrimp...I run 2 12" or whatever size skewers through them from belly to back. you can usually fit 8-10 on each one and it keeps them organized, spaced properly and easy to deal with when on the smoker or grill.

Last edited:
48 HOURS YIKES! It only takes 2-4 hours to to make Ceviche! I would only marinate the shrimp for 30 minutes it doesn't take long for shrimp to soak up the flavors. We make Ceviche all the time, it would be good smoked for a bit too!

Last edited: