Can I Do This???

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

larry maddock

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Sep 27, 2005
BOURBON,MISSOURI
HELLO HELLO,
CAN YOU START A COMPOST PILE IN A FIVE GALLON BUCKET????

what should i throw in it????

is coffee and tea grounds good???

i am a complete beginner --
i have never had a PILE....

if i fill 5 gal bucket by nov. 1---
can i use it in mid april???
PDT_Armataz_01_30.gif

You can, but it would be better in a trash can even. Maybe two 5 gallon buckets. You have to turn it every other day or so, maybe longer. So pouring from one bucket to another would be easier. Coffee grounds, eggshells, greens, leaves, etc will work. I would google composting and get all the info your could want.

thanx for the info...
i didnt know you had to turn it.
i never had a pile before..
ive never known anyone who had a pile before...
PDT_Armataz_01_09.gif

ever notice you trash can gets hot? Barrels are good for this make sure thelids on tight and just knock it over and roll it around some.

yes no meats-fats-bones-and yes Rich your's and dogs pee ok-but no dog doo.5 gal. of compost ain't much.tiss a drop in the bucket. pun intended.

yea i heard ole paul the gardener about beer and compost so i visit my pile after i had a few like richtee

And don't forget to add all of your dryer lint and the cold ash from your smoker. (If I remember the artical in our local newspaper correctly)

I got a new tumbler about a week ago and things are cooking along just fine. I used shredded leaves, a lot of green weeds and grass clippings (spring has sprung here), and kitchen stuff including coffee grounds.