Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kboss714

Fire Starter
Original poster
Mar 29, 2015
Colorado
I have been invited to be apart of my church's brisket competition. They know I do BBQ so I got invited to partake, but only problem is I don't do a lot of briskets. I normally do pork ribs, pulled pork, hams, chicken thighs, whole chickens and wings. I have a master built electric smoker and I use traeger pellets in alder flavor.

This will be the whole brisket we will be smoking and I have only done either a flat or point, whatever on sale around St. Patrick's Day. Looking for some advice on times, temperatures, remove fat/trim and brine/inject or not. I do a lot of brineing of other meats so pretty familiar with that process.  I have a pretty good rub I use on steaks and beef so don't need a rub recipe.

Last edited:
Why not see if they are willing to expand the categories and have a bigger contest!

There are a ton of brisket recipes on here.

Use the search bar at the top & start reading.

Hopefully your smoker is big enough for a full packer.

You may have to separate it or cut it down to fit.

Al

Have seen the Bludawg method?

BLUDAWGS BRISKET - K.I S.S. some of the best brisket you will ever eat! Total cook time including the rest 8 hrs or less. I promise it will be as moist as mornin dew on the lilly, tender as a mothers love, pure beefy smoky goodness.

1 packer 12-15 lb

Trim off the hard fat on each side of the flat thin the fat cap to 1/4"

Mix your Rub

1 part kosher salt 4 parts Med grind Black peppa by volume( this is a true 50/50 BY weight)

apply a coat of rub you need to be able to see the meat through the rub clearly.

Pre heat the pit to 300 deg