Been lurking for awhile and want to thank everyone

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

deepdivetc

Original poster
Jun 23, 2015
I have been reading reviews and advice on here for quite some time now. I am very new to the smoking game and I wanted something that would help me with the learning and not create as much frustration. It was hard to make a decision, but I think that I have made the right one for me. I wanted something that would help maintain temp, allow for decent size cooks, can be used as a grill as well as smoke, one that would not totally break the bank, and most of all I did not want to have to replace in 3 or 4 years from wearing out like all of my gas grills in the past. I decided to go with the Yoder 640 and I think that it fits the bill. It just showed up today and I am very excited to get a day off work and try to play with it for the first time. Like I said I just wanted to thank the community for having so much info out there for someone new like me. I will be reading much much more to help me along.

Last edited:
Thank you everyone. I finally got to use it for the first time the other night. Just did some brats and dogs just to get used to it a little bit and the controls. I will say that it is a little different to get used to when you are used to only using a gasser grill. I get a few days off over the 4th so I am going to try a butt, some ABT's, and a fatty.... I figure why not just dive in. I want to play with the baffle on it a little as I seemed to get some temp differences from one end of the smoker to the other. Almost a 50 deg difference, but from what I have been reading I think I had the baffle in the wrong position.

Deep,