Backyard Pig Roast

Discussion in 'Pork' started by jaysun29, Jul 12, 2011.

1. Doing a Pig roast in my backyard.. 80 lbs pig on the spit.. Do I smoke it.??. can I smoke it??..should I smoke it??.. what wood... want to be able to wow my guests..

Thanks!

2. meateater

meateater Smoking Guru SMF Premier Member

Welcome to the SMF. Glad to have you here. Lots of good folks, great recipes and knowledge. Looking forward to  your first qview. [​IMG]

3. ugaboz

ugaboz Smoking Fanatic

hit that thing with hickory hard and brush it off with some cherry

4. smokinal

smokinal Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator OTBS Member ★ Lifetime Premier ★

[​IMG]    Glad to have you with us!

Have you done a whole hog before?

5. Thanks Al.. No I've never done a whole hog before. We have this BBQ every year and I have smoked ribs and done pulled pork. We just felt this year to try something different

6. alblancher

alblancher Master of the Pit Group Lead OTBS Member

We used to do whole pigs at least once a year in the old days.  The way you do it will be determined by the rig or materials  you have on hand.   I found that indirect heat is by far the best for the majority of the cooking time.  We would start the pig around 6 or 7 in the evening, let it get some good smoke from the in-direct fire over night and then pull the coals under the pig in the morning.  A good wind screen helps a great deal,  that and a keg of beer.  It's tough getting people to stay up all night turning the spit occasionally if you don't have a keg of beer.  The beer also kept the pig moist.    The ribs will finish first and the hams took a good bit longer so the placement of your fire is important.

If you have access to a rack you can open the pig up a bit and lay him flat on the grate.  I guess he'll cook faster that way but you'll need a way to flip him.