Are smoked chickens supposed to look like this?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dano83

Original poster
Mar 29, 2014
Hello,

I am new to smoking chicken and I found this one video where this  woman stated that the temp of the chicken when done should be 188-185 degrees when done. Is this correct?

Video:

Thanks

I didn't watch the whole video, just skipped around through it.  She says she doesn't eat the skin.  I do.  That black skin just does not work for me and she had a LOT of white and grey smoke at the beginning of her smoke.  She even says the skin is covered with ash.  YUCK!  I've had mistakes early on that were black like that.  The dark meat was flavorful, the skin inedible, and we ended up making chicken salad out of the dry breast meat.

She says finished temp should be 180-185 and she put the probe kind of in the area of the thigh.  Her internal temp of that area was 184.  Brined and injected chickens can go to that temp but seems a little high if you want to ensure the breast meat is moist and juicy for an unbrined chicken.  I cover all bases to ensure moist breast meat.  I brine, inject, and beer can smoke my chickens.  Below is what I do to get moist flavorful meat through and through with edible, crispy skin.

The pink salt is definitely optional.  It was an experiment that turned out delicious.  We liked it because it gave a very slight hammy flavor to the chicken that worked well.  The pics tell the story of what a completely edible smoked chicken should look like.

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/159441/wsm-double-beer-can-brined-chicken-smoked-with-hickory

Last edited:

Hello,