Add chips throughout process?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

scottsmith

Original poster
Dec 29, 2007
Please pardon my ignorance but this is my first time smoking meat. Do I continually add soaked chips throughout the smoking process or just leave the chips i started wit in the pan? I have noticed after about 90 minutes that the smoke eminating from the smoker has decreased significantly and when I opened her upand peaked in the chip box it seems the chips are lmost like charcoal and very little smoke it coming from them...PLEASE HELP! Oh - I have a 34' Smoke Hollow gasser. thx.

Yes, add chips throughout the smoke. Every 90 minutes is not a bad interval. I would dump the burnt out chips out before adding new.

Hope this helps!

Take care, have fun, and do good!

Regards,

Meowey

Scott,
First, welcome to the site.