About ready to attempt this smoking thing!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

snoova110

Original poster
Jun 12, 2013
Central Illinois
Hi everyone.

OK, thanks to some advice on this page I have my smoker seasoned.  Now I'm ready for the next step... actually cooking something in it.  Can anyone steer me in the correct direction please?  I have a 6 pound pork butt and I'm using a Char-griller with the sidebox.

What can you do to prepare the meat and what temp should the grill be at when I put it in?

Is it ok to jest use Kingford charcoal.  That's what I have.  Is there something better to use in the future?

Also... how long do you cook it?

Can you tell I'm really new at this?  Ha ha!

Thanks for any help you can give me!!!

Snoova

Snoova

To prepair the meat you can use a rub to add flavor. You can use EVOO or Mustard for a glue to hold it.

If you are using a sugar based rub. You need to stay below 250°. If not sugar based you can go higher Say 275 ° I try to stay in the 225° to 240° range.

Kingsford will work great. If you have some wood chunks or chips throw them in. I prefer chunks to chips.

You will need a good thermomter so you will know when it is done. for pulled you will want IT of 200° to 205°.

After you remove from smoker. Wrap in foil. then wrap with a towel or 2. Place in ice chest to rest. Then go to pulling and enjoy/

expect for it to take about 1.5 hours per pound. expect it to hit 150° or so and stall. It may stall for hours. Don't worry. That is normal. Keep the door closed It will cook with out you looking.

Remember to post a Qview.

Happy smoken.

David

Hi Snoova!