3 - 2 - 1 visual cue

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jonathan

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 28, 2007
I'm pretty new to ribs and such (as in completely novice).

Trying a 3-2-1. When looking to see if its ready to wrap, do I simply look for visual if the meat is pulling from the bone? Do I go with an internal temp? Should the meat already be browning?

Also, any particular tips for foiling the ribs? I presume its a lil different from foiling a brisket or a roast if for no other reasons the length and the bones.

I really don't look that much untill I actualy foil them. After about 1 hour in the foil, I kinda peek inside (OUCH, it's hot) to see how far they have pulled back from the bones. If it's around 1/2" I may just unfoil them at that time. Apply the sauce if I'm going use it. And go for the last hour unfoiled. As far as foiling goes. heck I just spay them pretty good with apple juice and foil away. The bottom line is about 1/2 or so for the pull back on the bone is what I shoot for. Some may do it different. I don't think you can get a good internal temp. there really isn't enough meat to probe without hitting a bone. I hope this will get you in the ball park.

Thanks. Just foiled them in fact. That'll give me a ballpark on it.

I watch spares like a hawk. Smokin's bout right, at 1/2" you better get them outta the foil and on the rack for firm'n and add'n sauce(if ya want)

Everyone does them different, everyone has great ribs. You MUST practice to get them just right for your family. 3-2-1 is JUST a guide, not a rule.