post #1 of 1
Thread Starter

Pork & Sons, the bestselling French cookbook and winner of the 2005-06 Grand Prix de la Gastronomie Francaise, is now available in English. More than a cookbook, it is a rich chronicle of a community, Saint-Agreve, and its passion for the pigs whose meat is celebrated in the 150 recipes in the book. Stephane Reynaud was born in this community, into a family of butchers, and his respect for their craft makes his book a joy to read. Reynaud's emphasis on the quality of life in the village and the meat it provides is a paean to the traditional ways of farming and living. Readers of Bill Buford's Heat will recognize the same sense of pride and wonder that Tuscan butcher Dario Cecchini evoked in the chapters devoted to Buford's apprenticeship with him. Fans of Michael Ruhlman and Brian Polcyn's Charcuterie, Bruce Aidell's Complete Book of Pork and Complete Sausage Book, and Fergus Henderson's Whole Beast will quickly embrace Pork & Sons and clear a place of honor on their cookbook shelf for it. is the year of the pig! PDT_Armataz_01_22.gif